The Historical Text Archive: Electronic History Resources, online since 1990 Bringing you digitized history, primary and secondary sources
HTA Home Page | Articles | Latin America/Argentina | Argentine Political Chronology

Email to a friend
Printer friendly

Argentine Political Chronology

1806 Popham expedition occupied Buenos Aires. Santiago Liniers forces British to surrender

1807 Second British expedition under General John Whitelocke occupies Montevideo (February-July) and attacks B.A. (June-July) but Liniers forces British to capitulate

1810 May 25, Mariano Moreno and provisional junta reject Spanish authority. Tries to gain control of Montevideo and Asunción

1810-1811 Delegates from interior provinces gradually join the provisional junta in B.A. Moreno resigns, Conservative triumvirate replaces junta (1811)

1812 Manuel Belgrano, in charge of porteño forces in northwest, checks royalists at Tucumán and Salta but fails to take Upper Peru. A second triumvirate organized at B.A.

1814 Assembly of provincial representatives at B.A. make basic social reforms 1814. José de San Martín assumes command of army of north

1816 Juan Martín de Pueyrredón named Supreme Director after independence declared

1819 Congress of Tucumán, having moved to B.A., drafts centralist constitution which is overwhelmingly rejected by autonomist sentiment in the provinces

1820 Collapse of Centralist authority at B.A.

1821-1824 Governorship of Martín Rodríguez at B.A.; minister of government is Bernardino Rivadavia

1821 Brazil annexes Uruguay

1825-1828 Buenos-Aires supports revolt in Uruguay and declares war on Brazil

1826 Congress of provincial representatives meeting in B.A. draws up another centralist constitution and elects Rivadavia as president

1827 Constitution is rejected by provinces and Rivadavia resigns

1828-1829 Civil War, Juan Manuel Rosas emerges as strongman

1831 Pact of the Littoral, signed by provinces of B.A., Entre Rios, and Santa Fé (subsequently joined by Corrientes), provides limited concept of national unity

1835 Rosas is elected governor with supreme and absolute powers

1837-1838 Rosas breaks relations with and declares war on Bolivian-Peruvian Confederation.
Continued centralist-autonomist conflict in interior

1838-1851 Rosas enters the civil war in Uruguay and besieges Montevideo

1838-1840 Following disputes over treatment of French subjects, France established blockade of B.A. and extends military assistance to anti-Rosas forces in Uruguay and Argentina

1839-1840 Intensified civil conflict within Argentina. Severe repressions in B.A.

1845-1848 B.A. blockaded by France and England

1851 Justo Jose de Urquiza, governor of Entre Rios, in alliance with Brazilian and Uruguayan forces. Leads revolt against Rosas, wins at Caseros (1852)

1852-1861 Intermittent civil war between B.A. and the other provinces

1854-1860 Urquiza president of Confederation

1862-1868 Bartolome Mitre president

1865-1870 War of the Triple Alliance

1868-1874 Domingo F. Sarmiento, president.

1874-1880 Nicolás Avellaneda, Mitre revolt (1874) repressed

1880-1886 Julio Roca president. Consolidation of the National Autonomist or Conservative party

1886-1892 Miguel Juárez Celman

1892-1898 Luis Saeñz Pena and Jose F. Uriburu, 1893-1895. Revolt of the Radical party ; Socialist party founded

1898-1904 Julio Roca

1904-1910 Manuel Quintana & José Figueroa Alcorta

1910-1916 Roque Saénz Peña and Victorino de la Plaza, Saenz Peña Law (1912)

1916-1922 Hipólito Yrigoyen, first Radical Party member to be elected president.

1922-1928 Marelo T. de Alvear (conservative Radical party; 1924)

l928-1930 Yirgoyen; deposed in 1930

1930-1932 José F. Uriburu, general, as dictator

1932-1938 Agustín P. Justo (anti-Yrigoyen Radical)

1938-1940 Roberto M. Ortiz, ill in 1940

1940-1943 Ramon S. Castillo as acting president

1943 Generals Rawson and Ramírez overthrow government

1944 Juan Domingo Perón as V-P

1945 Perón imprisoned and freed

1946-1952 Administration of Perón

1952-1955 Second administration of Perón; Evita dies in 1952
1955 Military overthrows Perón.

Provisional government under General Lonardi

1955-1958 Gen. Pedro E. Aramburu

1958-1962 Arturo Frondizi

1962-1963 Administration of José M. Guido

1963-1966 Arturo Illia

1966 Military coup by General Onganía; Lanusse as president

1970 General Roberto Levingston

Perón returns to Argentina

1971 Alejandro Lanusse

1973 Héctor Cámpora, May 27-July 13
Juan Domingo Perón, Oct 12- July 1, 1974

1974 Maria Estela (Isabel) Martínez Perón

1976 Jorge Rafael Videla

1981 Roberto Viola, March 29-Dec 22
Leopoldo Fortunato Galtieri

1982 Malvinas/Falkland Islands War
Reynaldo Benito Antonio Bignone

1983-1989 Raul Alfonsín

1989-1999 Carlos Menem

December 10, 1999-December 21, 2001 Fernando de la Rua

December 21 and 22, 2001 Federico Ramón Puerta

December 23-30, 2001 Adolfo Rodríguez Saá Páez Montero

December 31, 2000-January 1, 2001 Eduardo Camaño

January 2, 2001-May 25, 2002 Dr. Eduardo Duhalde

May 25, 2003- Néstor Kirchner